Deliverance

Deliverance

Deliverance by James Dickey might be my new favorite novel. I just finished it today, so I’ll want to spend some time thinking on that, but right now it looks like a serious contender.

I almost don’t want to write anything about this book because I feel like any words I would be able to scrape together wouldn’t be worthy. This book is beautifully written. I found myself so swept up in the the delicate, thought-provoking descriptions of the river and the surrounding area. Dickey made these things alive, and I fell in love with that.

The story was equally compelling. I found myself desperate to find out what happened next.

Like I said, I don’t feel very comfortable writing about this book yet; maybe I will at some point in the future. All I want to do is recommend that everyone read this book. It is a true work of art and it shows that James Dickey was a master of his craft.

Leave a comment